RSS Feed

Get up, get going, take control.

I’ve never really made resolutions before. Usually I can’t think of anything that feels sincere, that I would actually keep to for any length of time. I like to think that I have willpower, but I can only really apply it to something that seems worthwhile to me, and I don’t see the point of declaiming “I will eat nothing but salad this year!” when I know that’s never going to happen.

But this year is different. I know that no matter what happens this year, by the end of it so much will have changed. So though I have no idea where I’ll be living or what I’ll be doing, I want to make the most of it.

My resolution is inspired a quote from one of my favourite authors:

“If you trust in yourself…

and believe in your dreams…

and follow your star…

you’ll still get beaten by people who spent their time working hard and learning things and weren’t so lazy.”

Terry Pratchett, The Wee Free Men

So that’s it really. Some might see this as a little depressing, but I think it’s a reminder to me that if I stopped sitting around daydreaming all day, I might actually be able get something done.  And if there’s something that makes me feel better in life, it’s a sense of achievement.

In 2012 I will get up, get going and take control of my life.

Or at least have a bloody good go at it.

************

Frances lives in Edinburgh, and loves food, fashion, fire engineering and other things starting with ‘f’. 

2 responses »

  1. Proactivity and making things happen, awesome.

    Reply
  2. Love it – great inspiration for making things happen!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

