RSS Feed

I’m in Slow Club

Hannah Longmuir is an artist & maker living in the  Scottish Borders.  She blogs regularly for Cameo Curio.

*************************************************************************

After Frances’s excellent post about her New Year’s Resolution to take the 2012 bull by the horns, I’ve been having a think.

I’m fully into making things happen, and many of my goals for this year involve moulding my own future – like working on making my business plan robust.  This year I want to take things up a notch, work hard for success, never take ‘no’ for an answer.

But yet, I’m subscribed to a Slow Club.

This doesn’t necessarily mean doing things slowly, or getting less done in a day.

It means that I’m subscribed to a way of living which embraces reflection and togetherness, which treasures the slow, and which is mindful of detail.  I’m subscribed to a way of living which aims to make quality connections.  I hope for my business ethos, my art work, my crafting and my relationships to reflect this commitment

Often the Slow Movement – whether slow food, slow art, slow money, slow cities – is a reaction against, & an intentional separating from, fast paced society.  I’m not really into that.  I don’t see being in Slow Club as negative lens for viewing society.

Saying that, I think that taking time to notice, valuing the inherent history in a re-usable item, and enjoying things that unfold slowly over time, can be a powerful vehicle for change and a strong political comment.  I also think it might be a way for me to be a woman in business making my own way through.

I think my 2012 is going to be about noticing.

About watching things emerge.

About being open to surprises and opportunities.

And I think I might be amazed by the things that happen.

Some interesting people to look up who are connected with the slow movement or who’ve written interesting things about living slow: John O’Donohue, Tim Slowinksi, Michael Kimmelman.


3 responses »

  1. I really like this. There is something to be said for balancing productivity with slowness – I think sometime I can just march so quickly into wanting the end product that I don’t take my time on detail. I’m definitely interested to see what the outcomes are, and how you feel it creates an ethic around your business and way of working. Thanks for some great thoughts!

    Reply
  2. I especially like your line about ‘noticing’ and ‘enjoying things that unfold slowly’ being ‘a powerful vehicle for change and a strong political comment’.

    There is loads that is important tied up with this!
    I think that it’s brilliant that you’re exploring a business model bearing this wisdom in mind..

    And we do need a thorough critique of our ever accelerating caffeine fuelled super-stress society. Because it steadily breaks and discards people..

    But I agree that there is a great deal of ‘Yes’ to slow, as well as the important ‘No’.

    “The serene have not opted out of life. They see more widely, love more dearly, rejoice in the things the frantic mind no longer sees or hears.” -Pam Brown

    I’m working on an alternative “Quality of Life indicators” index.. and I’m struck by how many of them are quickly ruled out if I’m always stressed, busy, or rushing.

    Eg: -having good relationships with neighbours;
    -regularly having breakfast with friends;
    -being available to give, and able to ask for, help with practical things. .
    -sitting outside to drink tea when it’s sunny

    (I’m still collecting these, so please can anyone send me more ideas!)

    Reply
    • that’s a great Pam Brown quote.
      And I like the idea of ‘Quality of Life Indicators’. I’ll have a think of some!
      Hannah

      Reply

Leave a Reply

