RSS Feed

We make the road by walking…

So, we’ve got the ball rolling on the Gingerbread Feminists blog. However, there are still questions about how to make this the bet kind of space for conversation. I want to have this discussion on the blog because how we create this space and how we conduct our dialogue is as much of an important issue as any of the other topics that might be raised. How we are communicating with each other is as important as the content.

So, here are a few questions for starters:

What kind of space can Gingerbread Feminists be?

How can it be an open and a safe space? I don’t believe this is an either or situation (i.e. freedom of speech vs political correctness), so I’d love to hear some thoughts on how to create both.

Do we need a sense of guidelines for contributors?

What does it mean for this space to be feminist, pro-feminist and feminist-questioning?

Do we need a clearer sense of why this space exists and what it is about?

2 responses »

  1. hello! I’m catching up with posts, a few days late. I’m interested in whether dialogue can build around a blog via comments etc or whether the posts themselves will be the dialogue – the posts people chose to write will, I assume, be in response to what has gone before and be triggered by ideas. It might be that the answers to the questions come out through the content that appears?
    Hannah

    Reply
  2. I think that is a really good point Hannah. As you can see by my late response, I’m not reading things as they get posted either. If I happen to see something in a reasonable time frame, I would try to comment, but I’m usually 2 or 3 days behind schedule. So I am more likely to promote conversation via a future post on a topic that interested me. I’m really excited to see how the upcoming theme week works on. I think that might be a good way to really get dialogue going!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

